MENU
_07C1071-Edit

TESTIMONIALS

Fayetteville is a great city.
The hotel, stores and restaurants provided great people personalities. The beauty, cleanliness, and pleasantness of the people.

Dorothy West, Universal Supreme Council

  • General


     

    Sometimes Home

    Melody - We had a great weekend discovering some great things Fayetteville has to offer!

    Thank you for your hard work to make it happen and bring us to town to cover the area.

    We're looking forward to continuing to spread the word about Fayetteville!

    Mikkel & Dan
    SometimesHome.com

    Submitted: September 2020
    Source: Personal Card


    Rolling Thunder North Carolina

    Letter from Rolling Thunder, NC State Liaison

    Pauli Levesque
    RTNC State Liaison

    Submitted: May 18, 2020
    Source: Letter


    Partner Cherry Bekaert LLP 

    Our firm has been pleased to provide audit services to the Fayetteville Area Convention and Visitors Bureau for the fiscal years ended June 30, 2003 to June 30, 2016. Those services included rendering an opinion as to whether the financial statements are present fairly, in all material respects, in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America. Our opinions for all years listed above were unmodified or “clean” opinions.

    April Adams,
    Partner Cherry Bekaert LLP 

    Submitted: December 2, 2016
    Source: Letter


    Mayor Pro Tem, Eastover Town Council

    It was truly my honor to have been a small part of this amazing event.  I want to thank everyone that had the idea to make this a community event.  It is all about our county and not one specific area.  We all have so much to share.

    I look forward to many more events like HHIV.  After everything is compiled, I think we should have an 11:30 lunch meeting to view all of the videos and pictures!!!!  Hint Hint  You all know how to have a meeting!!

    I hope you get some rest and enjoy the holidays.  Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas!

    Cheryl C. Hudson
    Mayor Pro Tem, Eastover Town Council

    Submitted: November 9, 2016
    Source: Email


    Ivey/Ivery Family Reunion

    I recently visited the Fayetteville Area Convention and Visitors Bureau in search of items and information to stuff our family reunion registration bags with. I was lead to your establishment by Mr. Wilbur Bell of Your Tours Unlimited, Inc. 

    Upon my arrival, I was graciously and warmly greeted by Ms. Betty Davis, who made me feel very welcome and at ease in your place of business. Not only did Ms. Davis make sure that I felt welcome, but took the time to listen to what activities I had planned for my family reunion and offered me all the information and items that would be just right to stuff my bags with. She also informed me that I could have secured the hotel, etc. through the Bureau at no cost to me, of which I wasn’t aware of.

    But, more importantly than all that I have mentioned, I just wanted you to know that Ms. Betty Davis has the most pleasing personality, so very energetic and enthusiastic going about her daily tasks at the Fayetteville Area Convention Bureau. I know without a doubt she is a huge asset to your Convention Bureau.

    It was a pleasure to have met Ms. Betty Davis.

    Sincerely,

    Diatha I. Harris
    Ivey/Ivery Family Reunion

    Submitted: July 6, 2016
    Source: Letter


    128th Annual Convention

    I apologize for taking so long to reply. Our organization is interested in Fayetteville as the location for our 128th annual convention, which will be held in the April, May 2018 time frame. We held our 125th, 2015, Convention this past May in Pittsburgh, PA. Our 2016 Convention will be held in Fresno, CA and the 2017 in Newport News, RI. We will formally decide on Fayetteville as our 2018 site at our Board of Directors meeting in April 2016. Once that happens, we will become increasingly involved in the planning and coordination efforts necessary to insure a successful convention. I appreciate your interest in our organization and look forward to having you assist us. Please pass along my appreciation to the ladies at the Visitors/Convention Center for their assistance.

    Sincerely, Jerry Walden, DSC

    Submitted: June 22, 2015
    Source: Email


    The Fresh Market

    What an amazing Visitors Bureau - The Fresh Market is receiving the warmest welcome to Fayetteville!  Thank you Denise, Angie and John for all of the information about the area!

    Sue Parker

    Submitted:  March 20, 2015
    Source:  Facebook


    Brigade Chaplain, 82nd Sustainment Brigade, Fort Bragg, NC

    Great to meet you this morning at the AUSA breakfast. Thank you for your past dedicated and sacrificial service to our country, military, and freedom's cause and for your continued service to our military team and mission. I visited the Fayetteville Area Convention and Visitors Bureau my first week in town last summer and was very impressed with the facilities and the staff. I received so much helpful information. I even took my parents when they visited town a few months later. I pray the Lord's continued blessings upon you and your team as you serve the great people and visitors of Fayetteville and the surrounding communities.  

    Chaplain Philio

    Chaplain (MAJ) Shannon K. Philio
    Brigade Chaplain
    82nd Sustainment Brigade
    Fort Bragg, NC

    Submitted:  March 17, 2015
    Source:  Email

  • Group Tour

    I think everything worked out great…Thank you for all your help with this tour & for taking your time to be with my group on Saturday, May 26th. I really appreciate all that you’ve done. - Perkiomen Tours


     

    Sophie & the Ladies of the Fayetteville Holidays

    Thank you! The city tour was just what we needed to help us plan for our Holidays Concourse. It was great and the lunch was so enjoyable. Thanks for all you did.  We will be in touch with you soon to seek your help in planning our tour for our guests.

    Again thanks,

    Sophie & the Ladies of the Fayetteville Holidays

    Submitted: January 19, 2016
    Source: Card


    Fullington Bus Company

    Thank you so very much for your help. The meal at Chris’s was great and they loved the meal at the Hilltop – they said it was one of the highlights of the trip.

    Jackie Rhodes,
    Fullington Bus Company


    Capitol Tours

    Thanks for the pictures and everything you did for us. Hope we get to meet again when I bring our Capitol Tours Travel Club your way. You’re one of a kind.

    Glenda Tate,
    Capitol Tours


    Perkiomen Tours

    The tour itinerary looks really great! Thank you so much for putting this together for me.

    Lori Frank,
    Perkiomen Tours

  • Media

    Winterbloom Tea

    media testimonial winterbloom

    Thanks for the link. http://www.goodfoodgreatreads.com/2017/07/18/tea-at-winterbloom/

    Such an awesome piece! It is awesome what you guys have organized and we have already seen customers that have come in from it. Thanks again for all your hard work over there! 

    Joshua Choi
    Winterbloom Tea
    Submitted:  July 19, 2017  
    Source:  Email


    Jason Frye, Food and Travel Writer

    Melody,

    Thank you for making my job easy.

    Jason Frye
    Food and Travel Writer

    Submitted:  August 19, 2015
    Source:  Email


    Owner/Operator/Golf Pro, Carver's Falls Golf Range & Pro Shop

    I have worked with Melody over the years when we were promoting the RE/MAX World Long Drive Tournaments in Fayetteville, NC. Being personable and having the ability to communicate are just two of Melody's strong suits. The entire staff at the Fayetteville Area Convention and Viistors Bureau are a credit to our city and the small businesses within our community.

    I highly recommend to any public affairs or marketing assignment.

    Ed Badgett
    Owner/Operator/Golf Pro
    Carver's Falls Golf Range & Pro Shop
    Fayetteville, NC

  • Meeting Planners

    You did a FABULOUS JOB in obtaining quotes for my client. Thank you for following up through the process to make sure that we were okay, or if we needed anything. EXCELLENT customer service! --Vivian Baldwin, Hammitt-Sass Wedding


     

    Daughters of Christ Ministry, Inc.

    It was a pleasure being served by the FACVB Team.

    Audrie Sifuentes
    Daughters of Christ Ministry, Inc.


    Hoops and Dreams Showcase

    FACVB did an excellent job. We are grateful they were apart of our event.

    Marva Lucas
    Hoops and Dreams Showcase


    Billy Graham Evangelistic Association

    I hope you are well. I am in Yangon, Myanmar – returning home on Wednesday, 23 November.  Indeed, it was a pleasure to talk with you at RCMA (Columbia)—as it is always a delight to see you.  The Fayetteville Area Convention and Visitors Bureau, has a wonderful Director of Sales in you, as you always provide such great insight into what is happening in the Fayetteville area.  Looking forward to seeing you a next meeting.

    If the ministry finds that we will be in the Fayetteville area, I will be in contact with you.

    Peace!

    Kind regards, Karen

    Karen woods

    Billy Graham Evangelistic Association
    Team Office

    Submitted: November 2016
    Source: Email


    Society of Government Meeting Professionals

    So much can be said for Myron - he's a joyful presence and he can always be counted on to get a job done. While he's stepped down from the Board, he continues to be involved and contributing to our Chapter. He is always willing to lend support where needed - be it acting as a photographer at each of our meetings or contributing "something Fayetteville" to our silent auction or raffles. His devotion and dedication to our Chapter is inspiring and much appreciated! 

    Society of Government Meeting Professionals

    Submitted: May-June 2016
    Source: SGMP Newsletter


    Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

    It was fantastic. How rewarding it is to have a collective vision and be a part of it becoming reality! We have received countless kudos regarding the weekend. I hope you saw the article in The Observer on Sunday.  We were all pleasantly surprised to have the Fayetteville Alumnae Chapter receive front page coverage.

    Please accept my personal thanks for the guidance, resources, connections and time you have given us from the initial days of planning right up to the event itself. You are so effective at what you do.  You have, in fact, been an integral part of the team. Thank you so much.

    You'll Be Hearing From Us,

    Rene' Quarters
    Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

    Submitted: February 3, 2015
    Source: Email


    MARS Task Force Mountain Artillery Association

    I wanted to give you feedback on a bus company recommended by your office.

    In support of the MARS Task Force Mountain Artillery Association's Reunion, held in Fayetteville, we retained the services of Your Tours Unlimited. Mr. Bell provided very good service, arriving on time both days with clean buses and professional, pleasant drivers.

    In addition to Your Tours Unlimited, Mr. Bell subcontracted Danco Passenger Transport Service LLC on the first day. Mr. Darryl M. Daniel, the owner/operator was excellent to deal with, providing a very clean bus and very pleasant service. I would recommend that you add Mr. Daniel and his bus company to your list of bus companies that you provide to people and organizations who make inquiries with your office.

    I appreciate the support and service that your office provided to our reunion. The whole weekend was a success beyond our expectations. Our Vets felt welcomed and appreciated by everyone they met in Fayetteville and Ft. Bragg. I would feel comfortable recommending your office to anyone planning an event in Fayetteville.

    Thank you

    Steve Osinski

  • Sports Tournaments

    2020 AJGA Junior Open

    The AJGA appreciates the support of the FACVB to help bring the inaugural AJGA Junior Open presented by VisitFayettevilleNC.com to Anderson Creek Golf Club. Our players, families and staff enjoyed their time in the Fayetteville, NC area. Without the support of Amy and Myron this event wouldn’t have been possible. In an unprecedented year, the FACVB provided 156 junior golfers from across the world opportunities to grow on and off the golf course. We look forward to being back in 2021 and appreciate our great partners at FACVB!

    Patrick Cansfield, Regional Director, Southeast
    American Junior Golf Association

     


     

    2020 Butterfly PRIMERICA Sandhills Open

    Table Tennis is generally an “under the radar” type of sport.  When our small 0-star tournament sold out in one week that was held at a small recreation center, I knew that our area was ready to host a larger 2-star USATT sanctioned event.  But where to go? As a small (but growing) non-profit table tennis club, how were we going to be able to finance a larger tournament venue?  FACVB was referred to me by one of our members thinking that they might be able to provide help and/or guidance.  Our member was not kidding!  After discussing our vision with Myron Jones (FACVB Sales Director), he introduced us to a world of possibilities! 

    Table Tennis

    Through an FACVB grant, we were able to secure the Freedom Courts Sportsplex for our event scheduled in June of 2020.  Then COVID hit. We moved the tournament to August 14-16, 2020. It was stressful. Should we hold it or not?  We ended up going through with the tournament with very strict safety guidelines. No spectators.  Sanitizing tables and balls after each match. Temperature checks at the door. Masks were strongly encouraged and most adhered. The tournament was a huge success and sold out.  Every single competitor said they would come back.  This event could not have happened without the FACVB.  In addition to the grant for the venue, their communications department promoted the event on social media platforms. The FACVB sent out bid requests to the local hotels to get our competitors the best-blocked room rates for their stay. Several FACVB staff also took time out of their day to volunteer at our tournament to assist in providing our competitors with a welcome and safe place to compete.  I will forever be grateful to the FACVB for making our vision come true and allowing Fayetteville to become a table tennis tournament destination.  We are looking forward to a long and mutually beneficial partnership with the FACVB. Thank you for making our sport feel so welcome. Looking forward to our next tournament on January 15-17, 2021!

    Amy Karpinski
    President, Cape Fear Table Tennis Club


    Broadcast Services and Development  l  Big South Conference

    First and foremost: THANK YOU to the Woodpeckers and to Fayetteville!  Tremendous hosts and partners, you have driven a lead-off hit with a remarkable event in year one.  I feel we could not possibly have done much better for our inaugural collaboration, and I am excited about our future opportunities to grow and improve on this fine start.

    A college baseball tournament can be a significant undertaking, but no one flinched from doing the things necessary to make this event work, even when more was needed—extra hours, extra tasks, extra food, extra patience, and so on.  You “got it” right away, even though the Championship demands didn’t always mesh with expectations you may have for your normal team operations.  For all of the above, the Big South is grateful, but no one is more appreciative than me, because you often made my job in managing the event easier or more pleasant.  It was nice to be a type of “adjunct staff member” with your facility for the week in getting the job done.

    I acknowledge everyone there helped make this happen, and I know you try to recognize the team effort above the individuals, but I would agree that some should be noted for going above and beyond, at least by my observations—

                    Rachel, for being the liaison having to handle the full spectrum of requests from our direction as the primary contact,
                    Alpha, for being able to accommodate our teams and games and late requests on that beautiful field with such patience,
                    Mike/Magic, for being the guy keeping everything moving behind the scenes to the degree that the umpires considered this our “best ever” tourney,
                    Pete, for being understanding and flexible when a TV production threw itself into his space and dealing with sponsorship items and changes even on short notice,
                    Chris, for being the “glue guy” that always seemed to be there to fill the gaps, hold things together, and generally solve a wide range of problems for us,
                    Gabriel, for keeping things humming at such a level in the ticket office that this may be the least noise I’ve ever gotten from schools for admissions.

    Special thanks also to catering/hospitality for keeping our “captive audience” group fed throughout the week – I think that’s Austin and Marianna we need to thank for juggling the ongoing wants/needs upstairs for us…well done!

    Finally, I would also extend the individual salutes to one outside the team, but as instrumental as anyone in making the tournament work: Stephanie Decatur with the Fayetteville CVB deserves any and all praise we can send her way.  She got our teams situated with hotels, she solved problems I brought to her attention, and she even solved problems before I knew they existed.  Outstanding work, and hugely appreciated.

    Before I sign off here, please understand that I asked people for feedback every day of the championship…it’s pretty much unanimous:  they love the ballpark and they like seeing the Big South Championship in that venue.  I’m hoping you were able to receive similar feedback during the week because the praise is well-deserved.

    That’s all I wanted to say, at least until we can arrange to get together this summer for a debrief meeting/evaluation of the championship week.

    I’ll reach out on that soon but will wait until at least everyone has taken a moment to catch a breath.

    Our sincere thanks once again,

    Mark Bryant
    Director of Broadcast Services and Development  l  Big South Conference
    7233 Pineville-Matthews Rd., Suite 100, Charlotte, NC 28226

    Submitted: May 28, 2019
    Source:  Email


    CountrySide Gymnastics

    All American Gymnastics 

    Hi Stephanie!  CountrySide Gymnastics would like to thank you, Melody, David, and the Fayetteville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau for your support and participation in our 4th annual All American Dream Gymnastics Meet!  It was a huge success and we received some great feedback about our event and the city of Fayetteville!  Some visiting teams are interested in returning again next year!  

    We received many compliments on the goody bags you all donated.  Uncle Sam fits right in with our theme and really gave a personal touch!  We also appreciated the Fayetteville tour literature, press releases, and photography. David Nash did a great job and was very personable.  We currently have you all listed as a meet affiliate on our website (www.countrysidegym.com) as a show of gratitude and for people to explore things to do while in Fayetteville.

    Thanks again for your involvement and please save the date again for us next year....January 25-26, 2020!  We will be in touch. 

    Sincerely,

    Donna Witt
    Meet Coordinator
    CountrySide Gymnastics

    Date: January 31, 2019
    Source: Email

Community Spotlight